I do OK in figure, so why stop? Well, Im always on the fringes in the sport. made a name for myself doing it, etc etc…but I’ll give you a few reason.  I look at my pics from past show and I hate them 🙂 Stage photos are often terrible but I photograph awful on stage to be honest. But I was looking at a few of my past photos and I gotta tell you…the only way to look good in a back pose is to have no ass at all and you have to have the ability to bend your lower back and stick it out as far as possible. THIS is not something my back allows me to do due to a spinal deformity. Its always been the hardest on me and if I try to stick my butt out, I just look like I am leaning forward. I like my body for the most part but I have to say that one pose makes me hate my stage look. The second reason is my weight and thickness. At 5’3″ and 125lbs with a 26-27 inch waist i just cant get tiny enough to compete against most others in my height class. I will NEVER have a tiny waist, I have traps and a well defined back and figure is no longer defined by muscle really. Its a sport of illusion sometimes. Please don’t think I am bashing it or angry as this is not my intent. Im just explaining how it’s not what it seems on the outside like it used to be.  When I did the Arnold amateur I was left standing with about 7 of the girls of whom I thought were my biggest competition , but alas….we were ALL last callout. And I wasnt complaining for me as I thought they all were going to smoke me and I beat every one of them in placement. I swear I was thinking in my head “are they doing it backwards?”

So my new goal is womens physique. Im not saying they will like me any better than figure does but I think the division suits me better. A more “feminized” version of female bodybuilding is basically what it is. I believe the poses look better on me than any of the figure poses. Hell, I think bikini poses look better on me than figure poses.  Although that bikini look over your shoulder pose thingy….well I cant do that as my spine doesnt twist around like that. You should see me trying to back up my car!

The womens physique (WPD) has 5 mandatory poses as follows

front pose (like a double bi, open hands and spine twist with leg extended)

back pose (like a double bi with one flat foot and one raised like regular FBB)

abdominal thigh, hands behind head

side tricep with open hands and bent or straight in front leg

side chest….this is done with arms extended, but some do arm bent like a bi shot.

All poses are done with at least one leg bent, no 2 flat feet.

The other comparison round in 4 quarter turns like figure, but no heels

and then they have the 1 minute posing routines. This is my biggest hesitation when it comes to WPD. Im sure I am making a mountain out of a molehill but I need some help with this part and am seeking some sort of choreography. I dont want to look inept and sloppy 🙂

There you have it. I will be doing figure at nationals in July and Im not sure for how much longer, perhaps just finishing out this season. So far WPD is just being presented at nationals, but I am hoping it will be at state levels next season so I can start on a bit smaller scale.  Ill keep you posted.

Happy memorial day to all :

 

About Fern Assard

44 year old Professional Fitness Model, National Womens Physique Competitor, Mother or four...crazy food advocate fighting for a fitter, healthier America. Im passionate because I care :)

Leave a Reply

