Well, being it was my first time with a new organization, Im always a little concerned with the different posing and stuff as well as how organized things are.

I must say top notch for being organized. Things did get a little off kilter with the times at the night show, but no more than most shows. We had a huge schedule posted and the expediters were first rate. 

I felt good morning off, things went smoothly, suit fit, shoes fit…made it there with plenty of time to spare. I find it funny putting on my tranny make up and going out super tan and having people look at you like you are an alien straight off the surface of the sun. There was plenty of room and mirrors were plenty  in the dressing room, but that changed later when the bikini and fitness models came in…but it wasnt as bad as at some shows. Though I have to say it was about 100 degrees after awile and got very uncomfortable. I like that they had figure show up earlier and go on stage and the other ladies later.  We kind of blended at the evening show but thats a given.  I would have killed for an open window……….

Masters class had about 20 women in all different height ranges. It was a huge class and probably could have been split into 2 height classes. there is a huge difference in body composition at different heights, so I feel it would have been better.  I placed 5th and we did so many 1/4 turns my back was killing me and I was afraid it was going to seize up and I would have had to have someone take me out on a backboard 🙂

In the short class I also placed 5th. My problem with the short class is that many of the winners are so tiny. I consider myself petite, but they are beyond petite. I will never be that small in my life, no matter how much I diet….it’s just not the way I am built.  Im heavy in the obliques and I have a broad muscular back and I have glutes. I can’t pose like some do…all poked out in the rear to create the hour glass illusion. My back doesnt bend back at all, never has, never will.  

I also didn’t like the side poses they do outside of the NPC. I’m not a “twister” of the torso and having a pronounced rib deformity only makes it more obvious to the audience. I have learned to pose to cover it. Some of the women pose with feet to side of the stage and have their entire upper body facing the judges and some are almost facing front.  I prefer straight up and down and just the side visible and I think it looks good on me. they had asked us to face the judges for all poses and I did try. My back was twanging and I had to blow it out a few times with my mouth to prevent back spasm.  Oh well, it is what it is…can’t change the rules.

Am I complaining about 5th placings? Perhaps a little, but what can I do about it? Nothing.  all I can do is walk out and think to myself “I’m a muscle girl, I like my body the way it is”. I’m not going to try change to look more like the winners, what’s the point of that?  I like the “old school” figure and it just isn’t what they want anymore.  Yes, I will keep doing it, but am probably going to go into the new “women’s physique” division with the NPC.  There is a routine with it, but I will get that figured out eventually. It’s 5 poses, but making it fit into house music and a 1 minute routine is going to be tough.  

I’ve tried to come in soft, hard, under posed, harder posed, leaner….I’ve done about 20 shows and more if you consider the 2 shows at one show combined, like state and another show at the same time.  I’ve gotten just 2 titles, but placed at most shows I have been in.  I can’t complain about that part 🙂 Like I’ve said before “whats a pro card going to do for me?”. Its not a ticket to fame, it doesn’t pay my bills….you just compete because you enjoy it. 

So, now on to the next show in a couple weeks. The Jay Cutler Classic in Boston may 8th. First I’m taking a quick trip out to California to see my photograpgher and get some new shots.  This time tan and a bit leaner. My back problems have screwed that up a little, but not much can be done about it now….just going to try to do my best 🙂

Hope everyone had a fantastic weekend !

About Fern Assard

44 year old Professional Fitness Model, National Womens Physique Competitor, Mother or four...crazy food advocate fighting for a fitter, healthier America. Im passionate because I care :)

Leave a Reply

